One man’s quest against his spending habits

I buy video games.

I mean, I buy a lot.  Worse, I have completionist tendencies; I hate that feeling of putting a game away that I haven’t finished, and I (generally) hate moving on to a new game unless I think I’m going to finish it at some time in the foreseeable future.

That means I have a backlog.  Quite a backlog.

So I’ve decided this – no new video games until I finish my backlog.  This could take quite a while…so I’ve created this blog to chronicle my ongoing fight against my past spending habits.  I’m going to aim for one update each two weeks.

So I give you: the list of games.  First, the PC games:

  • Abzu
  • Avernum
  • Avernum 2
  • Avernum 3
  • Avernum 4
  • Avernum 5
  • Avernum 6
  • Baldur’s Gate 2
  • Blades of Avernum
  • Cyberpunk 2077
  • Divinity II: Developer’s Cut
  • Divinity: Original Sin – Enhanced Edition
  • Divinity: Original Sin 2 – Definitive Edition
  • Dungeons & Dragons: Dragonshard
  • Forgotten Realms: Unlimited Adventures
  • Gateway of the Savage Frontier
  • Husk
  • I have No Mouth and I Must Scream
  • Icewind Dale
  • Icewind Dale 2
  • Kentucky Route Zero
  • Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards (remastered)
  • Little Big Adventure
  • Master Reboot
  • Menzoberranzan
  • Mount & Blade
  • Neverwinter Nights Diamond
  • Neverwinter Nights 2
  • Okhlos: Omega
  • Planescape: Torment (original)
  • Torment: Tides of Numenera
  • Treasures of the Savage Frontier
  • Pools of Darkness
  • Quest for Glory 5
  • Ryse: Son of Rome
  • Sim City 2000 (special edition)
  • System Shock (original)
  • System Shock 2
  • Tex Murphy: The Pandora Directive
  • Tex Murphy: Overseer
  • Tesla Effect:  A Tex Murphy Adventure
  • Ultima VII – The Black Gate + Forge of Virtue
  • Ultima VII – Serpent Isle + The Silver Seed
  • Ultima 8: Gold Edition
  • Ultima 9: Ascension
  • Ultima Worlds of Adventure 2: Martian Dreams
  • Uplink
  • Vangers
  • Wasteland 3
And now the games for consoles:
  • Dante’s Inferno (PS3)
  • Fallout 4 (PS4)
  • Final Fantasy VI (PS1)
  • Final Fantasy VII (PS1)
  • Final Fantasy VIII (PS1)
  • Final Fantasy IX (PS1)
  • LA Noir (PS3)
  • Last of Us (PS4)
  • Link’s Awakening (GB.  No I don’t mean DS or GBA or even GB Colour.  Yes really.)
  • Metal Gear 2 (PS3)
  • Metal Gear 3 (PS3)
  • Metroid Prime (Gamecube)
  • Ocarina of Time (N64 and/or Gamecube)
  • Ocarina of Time – Masterquest (Gamecube)
  • Portal 2 (PS3)
  • Resident Evil 3 (Gamecube)

And the games I have finished since this project started:

  • Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics
  • Alien Breed: Impact
  • Alien Breed 2: Assault
  • Alien Breed 3: Descent
  • Amnesia: the Dark Descent
  • Armada 2525
  • Baldur’s Gate (original)
  • The Bard’s Tale II:  The Destiny Knight
  • The Bard’s Tale III:  The Thief of Fate
  • Bard’s Tale IV: Barrow’s Deep
  • Battletech
  • Beyond Divinity
  • Blade Runner
  • Blood Bowl (PSP) (close enough to finished)
  • BloodNet
  • Calculator (iOS)
  • Choices (DNF – started ok but I just can’t stand it anymore)
  • Civilization III
  • Civilization IV
  • Civilization IV: Warlords
  • Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword
  • Civilization IV: Colonization
  • Curse of the Azure Bonds
  • Decromancer
  • Device 6
  • Dex
  • Detroit: Become Human
  • Divine Divinity
  • Double Dragon (NES)
  • Dungeons & Dragons – Tower of Doom
  • Dungeons & Dragons – Shadow over Mystara
  • Dungeon Rushers (iOS)
  • Dust: An Elysian Tale
  • Dr Mario World (close enough to finished)
  • Etrian Odyssey IV
  • Eye of the Beholder (2nd runthrough)
  • Eye of the Beholder II (2nd runthrough)
  • Eye of the Beholder III
  • Felicity
  • Flight of the Amazon Queen
  • Forgotten Realms: Demon Stone
  • Galactic Keep (iOS)
  • Gemini Rue
  • Ghosts ‘n’ Goblins (PSP)
  • GNOG
  • Guild of Dungeoneering (iOS)
  • Hand of Fate
  • Kid Icarus (NES)
  • The Hex
  • Her Story
  • Hillsfar
  • Mario Kart 8 (Switch – finished enough)
  • Metroid (NES – via Switch)
  • Mighty No 9
  • Mini Metro (iOS)
  • Opus: Rocket of Whispers (iOS)
  • Out There (iOS)
  • Out There Chronicles (iOS)
  • Out There Chronicles: Volume 2 (iOS)
  • Phasmophobia
  • Planetfall
  • Pool of Radiance
  • Project Highrise
  • Quest for Glory I: So You Want to be a Hero
  • Quest for Glory II: Trial by Fire
  • Quest for Glory III: Wages of War
  • Quest for Glory IV: Shadows of Darkness
  • Returnal
  • The Silent Age
  • The Stanley Parable
  • Secret of the Silver Blades
  • Simon the Sorcerer II:  The Lion, the Wizard and the Wardrobe
  • Simulacra
  • Simulacra 2
  • Steamworld Dig
  • Steamworld Dig II
  • Strider (PSP)
  • Stories:  The Path of Destinies
  • Steamworld Dig
  • Steamworld Heist
  • Super Mario Bros
  • Super Mario Bros 2
  • Super Mario Run
  • Super Mario 64
  • Surviving Mars
  • Talisman: Digital Edition
  • Templar Battleforce (iOS)
  • (Tex Murphy) Mean Streets
  • Tex Murphy: Martian Memorandum
  • Tex Murphy: Under a Killing Moon
  • The Legend of Zelda:  a Link Between Worlds
  • The Suicide of Rachel Foster
  • Thea: the Awakening
  • Total Recall (NES)
  • Ultima IV:  Quest of the Avatar
  • Ultima V
  • Ultima VI
  • Ultima: Savage Empires
  • The Warlock of Firetop Mountain
  • Warlords (1990)
  • Whispers of a Machine
  • Wizardry 1
  • Wizardry 8
  • X-Com 2
  • Zork I
  • Zork II
  • Zork III

And games I am currently playing (as of 28 March 2022), which includes a few I haven’t touched for a bit:

  • Wizardry 2: Knight of Diamonds
  • Quest for Glory V (Paladin and Mage runthroughs to go)
  • Zelda: Breath of the Wild

You can also see the archive for an index to every post on this blog.

These lists are going to be updated as I stumble across more games that I’ve bought but forgotten about.  Yes, that is a thing, I feel a bit like a nerdier and less-wealthy version of Imelda Marcos.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is my quest.  Wish me luck!

11 thoughts on “One man’s quest against his spending habits

  1. Thanks man! First step will be to apply some polish to this blog. I hate fiddling with layout at the best of times, but it's not helped by the rather unintuitive system here.

    Like

  2. I salute you Sir. I also have a ridiculous backlog of games but due to the studying scripts all the damn time, I hardly get to do any gaming. I look forward to hearing about your digital adventures! And possibly vicariously gaming through you…

    Like

  3. Thank you! I'm trying to look at this as “motivation to finish what I've bought”. There's a lot of games out there I'd like to buy, but I figure there's no point buying things that I never use.

    Like

  4. Pingback: B(ack)logging in WordPress – Mr Backlog

  5. Pingback: Console Challenge Day 2: Top 7 best Atari 2600 games! – The Well-Red Mage

  6. Pingback: Curse of the Azure Bonds – D&D Tactics – Mr Backlog

Leave a comment